
When to add counterclaims 
under the

Concurrent Coverage 
Right of Recovery.

Counterclaims
An Adverse Party may add a Counterclaim when;

Carrier A (Filing Party) Carrier B (Adverse Party)

 Two co-insurers pay for damages to the same covered auto under the collision 
portion of the policy.

Covered Auto

Example: Carrier A pays physical damage; Carrier B pays rental and towing.

 When filing a response, the Adverse Party seeking to recover its damages may add a 
counterclaim against the co-insurer only and not the parties believed to be 
negligent.  

Pays 
rental and 

towing

Pays 
physical 
damage

Do not file a counterclaim against a negligent 3rd Party. A separate filing should be 
initiated under the Negligence Right of Recovery against the parties believed to be 
negligent for the loss. 



When to add counterclaims 
under the

Concurrent Coverage 
Right of Recovery.

Counterclaims
The following examples illustrate how damages are awarded based on the arbitrator’s ruling.

Carrier A is Primary Carrier B is Primary Carrier A & B Co-Primary

Carrier A’s payment for 

physical damage 

recoverable. Carrier B’s 

collision deductible will be 

reduced from award and 

counterclaim barred.

*Deductible will not be reduced if 
entered in wrong field.

No recovery of Carrier A’s  

payment for physical 

damage. Carrier B’s rental 

and towing recoverable if 

counterclaim added by 

response due date.

*See Rule 2-2 for exceptions.

Carrier A & B’s payments 

are apportioned based 

on the payments made to 

the covered auto.

*Deductible will not be reduced if 
entered in wrong field.

For questions, call Member Services at 866-977-3434


